Number of vaccines administered at Semmelweis University - 18 August 2022
536180 Total vaccines

Founded in 1769, the Faculty of Medicine is Semmelweis University’s oldest and largest faculty with over 4,000 students, out of which 50% are international.

The Faculty provides a standard of education that is fully in line with that of other high quality European medical schools. Its Medicine Program (which concludes with an M.D. degree) is available in three languages: Hungarian, English and German.

In addition to its educational activities, the Faculty is committed to providing the highest level of progressive health care and to conducting advanced scientific research in the classrooms and clinical departments.

International Relations The Faculty of Medicine’s network of international contacts spans across three continents and includes student and staff exchange programs, as well as scientific collaboration.

The Faculty has had continuously running staff and student exchange agreements with Ruprecht Karls University (Heidelberg, Germany) and Albert Ludwigs University (Freiburg, Germany) since 1983, constituting its oldest and most successful collaborative international relationships.

Other partner universities in Germany include the Free University of Berlin, the University of Lübeck, and the University of Ulm. While most of these exchange programs are run according to a set exchange quota and duration of stay, the latter two are initiated through individual invitation.

A unique feature of the Faculty’s program is the exemplary cooperation between Semmelweis University and the Asklepios Medical School that opens up new horizons in European higher education. This education model provides Semmelweis students with the opportunity to continue their studies in Hamburg after having successfully completed two years of theoretical training in Budapest. The program at the Asklepios Campus in Berlin follows entirely the Semmelweis curriculum and it provides the students with a Semmelweis diploma at the end of their studies. The Faculty of Medicine Asklepios Campus Hamburg is a binational faculty which operates under the supervision of Semmelweis University’s Faculty of Medicine. This model was established based on the Amsterdam Treaty which created a unique and successful example of cross-border education in Europe.

For further information please visit the following websites (in German):

Altogether, the Faculty has active student exchange agreements with seven higher education institutions across five countries: Germany, Romania, Slovakia, Japan and the United States.

Bilateral staff exchange programs are currently in place with universities in Austria, Germany, Italy, Romania and Slovakia.

The Faculty is a full-fledged, active participant in the European Union’s ERASMUS mobility program.

Another important element of the Faculty’s international activities is the promotion and strengthening of scientific collaboration. This includes participating in joint research projects, sharing scientific literature, and informing each other about, or jointly organizing scientific conferences, meetings and events.