At its June meeting, the university’s Senate supported making the Szent Rókus Hospital and its Institutions a university hospital, by January 1, 2020 at the latest. Among others, the assembly decided on the presenting of awards and conferring titles of Doctor Honoris Causa, as well as modifications to the organizational regulations. At the conclusion of the meeting, rector Dr. Béla Merkely presented certificates to outgoing senators in recognition of their work.

The Senate accepted the three Consistory members proposed by the rector and the chancellor. The nomination took place in accordance with the request of the minister in charge of education, following the resignation of Márton Nobilis, one of the body’s members delegated by the minister. The university also has the right to propose a new member, and the final decision will be made by the minister.

The Senate also discussed the proposal on the creation of the university hospital, and decided to support making the Szent Rókus (Saint Roch) Hospital and its Institutions a university hospital, by January 1, 2020 at the latest – in accordance with the relevant law –, as well as the termination of the institution as an independent budgetary organ due to its integration into Semmelweis University. The decision follows the decree No. 1314/2019. (V.30.) of the government on measures relating to the Semmelweis XXI Development Project, in which it agreed to transfer the operating rights of the Rókus hospital to Semmelweis University.

The Senate decided on the conferring of Doctor Honoris Causa titles and the presenting of the Pro Universitate Award, and also formulated opinions on various current applications for executive and teaching-research positions.

The Senate decided on a modification to the Organizational and Operational Regulations (SZMSZ) stating that two organizational units (the Institute of Behavioral Sciences and the Department of Forensic Medicine) once again be part of the organization of the Clinical Center. The modification will enter into effect on August 1.

The body accepted modifications relating to certain provisions of the SZMSZ’s rules on compensations and benefits, which was necessitated in order to implement a May government decree. The decree modified the circle of those eligible for National Higher Education Scholarships, and introduced a new scholarship that can be awarded, named after János Hunyadi, to Hungarian students living abroad.

Senators accepted modifications to certain provisions of the regulations on awarding anniversary honorary certificates. In accordance with the changes, faculty deans will be able to decide on requests arriving after the deadline, when the Faculty Council has already made its decisions. The modification also regulates, in line with GDPR data protection rules, how data required to keep in contact with alumni students will be handled.

Senators voted to approve the proposal on reforming the faculty committees of the Faculty of Medicine created by the Senate (Committee on Studies and Examination, Credit Transfer Committee, Ethical and Disciplinary Committee), as well as modifying the personnel composition of standing committees at the Faculty of Health Sciences.

The Senate accepted the Faculty of Health Sciences’ proposal to establish a Traditional Chinese therapist specialist postgraduate training program, and decided on submitting the relevant application to the Education Authority. The new program will be aimed primarily at providing training for those with a medical degree.

At the conclusion of the meeting, rector Dr. Béla Merkely presented certificates and Ignác Semmelweis Silver Medals to the outgoing senators, thanking them for their work. The following senators will leave their positions: Dr. József Tímár, Dr. László Hunyady, Dr. László Tretter, Dr. Tamás Masszi, Dr. Péter Gaál, Zsuzsanna Babos, Dr. János Weltner, Dr. Dániel Bereczki, Eszter Simon, Dániel Imre Szőke, Richárd Levente Ármós, Caner Turan. The new Senate, composed of members elected at the recent election, will hold its inaugural meeting on July 2, 2019.

At the end of the meeting, Dr. Péter Reichert, the director of the Directorate General of Human Resources, informed the Senate that as of July 1, 2019, the guaranteed salary of some 3100 medical professionals working at the university will increase by 8% in line with a government decision. He said the raise will be carried out in a manner that the part of the salary determined by the employer, above the guaranteed salary, will not decrease. Each worker affected by the wage increase will be notified personally.

Rector Dr. Béla Merkely made a proposal at the meeting, requesting the Directorate General of Technical Affairs to assess and implement the essential maintenance tasks needed at the university, with regard to the coming special anniversary year, the university’s prestige, and the provision of high-quality education, research and patient care.

Pálma Dobozi
Translation: Tamás Deme
Featured image: Attila Kovács – Semmelweis University