of Semmelweis University
109 days
14 hours
50 min
39 sec

Three research groups from Semmelweis University have won funding for the period between July 1, 2019 and June 30, 2024 from a program announced by the Hungarian Academy of Sciences (MTA). Those receiving financing for their research activity are Dr. Dániel Bereczki, Dr. Péter Ferdinandy and Dr. Attila Patócs.

The objective of the call for applications launched by MTA in 2018 to establish supported research groups is, among others, to set up and support the operations of scientific workshops led by individuals who have achieved exceptional research results at Hungarian universities; to aid the work of new generations of researchers and educators; and strengthen cooperation between the MTA’s network of research institutes and institutions of higher education.

One of those winning funding was Semmelweis University’s Dr. Dániel Bereczki, the director of the Department of Neurology, with an application titled “Measuring the neurological burden of disease of Hungary.” Another winning application was by Dr. Péter Ferdinandy, vice-rector for science and innovations and the director of the Department of Pharmacology and Pharmacotherapy, and was titled “Establishing a systems pharmacology research group: Identifying molecular targets for cardioprotection and hidden cardiotoxicity using functional pharmacogenomic and molecular network analysis of ischemic heart disease and its comorbidities.” The third winning application was by Dr. Attila Balázs Patócs, deputy director of the Department of Laboratory Medicine, for the complex analysis of hereditary tumors.

According to the decision of the MTA presidency, based on the recommendations of the jury, a total of 21 research groups at 8 universities will begin their five-year work starting July 1 with annual funding of HUF 524 million: 7 in the field of life sciences, 7 in humanities and social sciences, and 7 in the area of mathematics and natural sciences. A total of 52 applications were submitted in response to the call for applications for the funding period between July 1, 2019 and June 30, 2024: 17 in the area of humanities and social sciences, 18 in life sciences and 17 in the field of mathematics and natural sciences, the MTA wrote on its website, where the full list of winners can be found.

Eszter Keresztes
Translation: Tamás Deme
Source: MTA
Featured image (illustration): Attila Kovács – Semmelweis University