The Erasmus+ internship is a period spent working in an institution, healthcare organisation or company in another European country, which helps you to acquire the skills needed in the international labour market and to get an insight into the culture of the host country.

Students of the Faculty of Health Sciences should contact Rózsa-Oltvölgyi Nóra at


Who can apply?

Students applying for the Erasmus + student mobility program should:

    • be a full-time undergraduate student at Semmelweis University’s Faculty of Medicine, Faculty of Dentistry or the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences, and have an active student status during the period of application
    • have successfully completed the first 4 semesters by the time of the application
    • be enrolled for the 2nd semester or declares that his/her student status is not suspended because of academic reasons
    • study in a degree program of Semmelweis University or be a refugee, asylum seeker, immigrant or settled person in Hungary
    • have at least intermediate knowledge of English or the language of the country of the mobility
    • outstanding academic, scientific and public activity

Where can you go?

Unlike in case of the study mobility, there is no list of host institutions. In the case of the traineeship mobility there is no need for Semmelweis University and the institution to have a contractual relationship. It can be any accredited hospital, teaching hospital, almost any company or organisation in a country which is part of the Erasmus+ programme and where you can do a placement that is relevant to your training and which is accepted by the university as an internship.


      • the institutions and organisations of the European Union
      • agencies and national offices coordinating European programmes
      • the student’s national diplomatic representation of the host country

You choose the institution where you want to spend your traineeship, which you have to have recognised by the University.

Countries participating in the Erasmus+ programme

Member states of the European Union:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden

Non-EU states: Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Serbia, Turkey

NOT among the participating countries: United Kingdom, Switzerland

Conditions for a successful mobility

The mobility period can range from 2 months to 12 months.
One student may participate in several exchanges abroad, either for study or traineeship purposes. BUT! The total period spent abroad (including all mobilities spent abroad) may not exceed 12 months for an MSc.

Several Erasmus+ traineeship mobilities may be carried out in the programme country, but please note that one traineeship mobility must last for at least 60 days and must be spent in the same institution.

The number of months supported by the university is a minimum of 2 and a maximum of 3 months. One month = 30 days, i.e. the placement must be a minimum of 60 days. You can use the calculator to work out the exact duration of the traineeship.


Continuing your (part of your) studies in 6th year or doing your compulsory summer practices in an institution abroad count as traineeship mobilities. Studies abroad are accepted by the University and are taken into account in the student’s studies at Semmelweis University.

Financial and other support

There are different types of scholarship grants available for both the study and the traineeship mobilities. Detailed information on the grants and other types of support are found on the STUDENT MOBILITY PROGRAMS page.