Number of vaccines administered at Semmelweis University - 25 July 2021
348845 Total vaccines


Senate of Semmelweis University

The Senate is the main governing body of Semmelweis University endowed with the authority to make decisions and recommendations, to form opinions, and to supervise. The Senate determines the course of the University’s educational and research activities and sees to their realisation, with due regard to the Founding Charter.


The rector of Semmelweis University serves as president of the Senate, while the secretary-general serves as its secretary.

The Senate regulations may be found in Semmelweis University’s Rules of Organisation and Operation (in Hungarian).

List of current members of the Senate of Semmelweis University


Standing Committees of Semmelweis University

The Senate has the authority to create committees to carry out its tasks related to forming opinions, making recommendations, preparing decisions, and supervising. The committees may be formed for a specific period of time, or as occasion requires; their tasks are defined by the Senate.


The standing committees’ composition, tasks, scope of activities and competence are defined by the Senate. The members of the committees operating on a faculty level are suggested by the Faculty’s Committee and the Dean and are approved by the Senate. The duration of the mandate of the standing committees is linked to the election of the Senate and its electoral cycle. All departments of the university must support the activities of the standing committees by providing them with the required information. The standing committees and their scope of activities are included in the Appendix No.3 of Semmelweis University’s Rules of Organisation and Operation.

List of Semmelweis University’s standing committees


Advisory Body of Semmelweis University

The previous consent of the advisory body is necessary before the approval of development plans, annual budget and asset management planning. Decisions of the Senate that have economic consequences defined in the Higher Education Act also need the consent of the advisory body. The advisory body holds at least two meetings per year. The mandate of the delegates lasts for five years, they can be re-elected and their activities in the advisory body is without any compensation.


Three members out of five are delegated by the Minister of Education based on the recommendation of the institution’s department of finance, the institution itself and the student’s union. The Rector and the Chancellor are members of advisory body.

The advisory body’s operative agenda was approved in 2016.

Members of the Advisory Body:

  • Dr. Zoltán Nagy, General Director of the National Institute of Clinical Neurosciences
  • Dr. Lívia Pavlik, Chancellor of Semmelweis University
  • Dr. Béla Merkely, Rector of Semmelweis University
  • Dr. Gábor Orbán, Managing Director of Gedeon Richter Ltd.
  • Dr. Róza Nagy, Chief Advisor to the President of the Hungarian National Bank