Font Sizes: A A A

University Bodies


Senate of Semmelweis University

The Senate is the main governing body of Semmelweis University endowed with the authority to make decisions and recommendations, to form opinions, and to supervise. The Senate determines the course of the University’s educational and research activities and sees to their realisation, with due regard to the Founding Charter.


The rector of Semmelweis University serves as president of the Senate, while the secretary-general serves as its secretary.

The Senate regulations may be found in Semmelweis University’s Rules of Organisation and Operation (in Hungarian).

List of current members of the Senate of Semmelweis University


Standing Committees of Semmelweis University

The Senate has the authority to create committees to carry out its tasks related to forming opinions, making recommendations, preparing decisions, and supervising. The committees may be formed for a specific period of time, or as occasion requires; their tasks are defined by the Senate.


The Scientific Council, the Ethics Committee, and the Quality Improvement and Assessment Committee have authority over the entire university, while the Complaints Committee and the Appeals Committee exercise the powers set out in Section 73 of Act CXXXIX of 2005 on Higher Education. The Study and Examination Committee, the Social Affairs and Equal Opportunities Committee, the Credit Transfer Committee, and the Disciplinary Committee operate at the faculty-level.

List of Semmelweis University’s standing committees


Advisory Body of Semmelweis University

The previous consent of the advisory body is necessary before the approval of development plans, annual budget and asset management planning. Decisions of the Senate that have economic consequences defined in the Higher Education Act also need the consent of the advisory body. The advisory body holds at least two meetings per year. The mandate of the delegates lasts for five years, they can be re-elected and their activities in the advisory body is without any compensation.


Three members out of five are delegated by the Minister of Education based on the recommendation of the institution’s department of finance, the institution itself and the student’s union. The Rector and the Chancellor are members of advisory body.

The advisory body’s operative agenda was approved on 22nd March 2016 and Dr. Sándor Csányi, Director General of OTP Bank Nyrt. was elected as President. Besides the Rector and the Chancellor, the two other members of the advisory body are Dr. Zoltán Nagy, General Director of the National Institute of Clinical neurosciences and Dr. Márton Pál Nobilis, former President of the National Communication Authority.